On Saturday night I followed the Pirates-Rockies gamecast online while official scoring a game for a local collegiate Prospect League team. The Pirates held a comfortable three-run lead as a I left our game…or so I thought. While driving home, I tuned to the game on the radio station and was disappointed, but not shocked, that the game was in extra innings and the Pirates were down two runs.

“Here we go again,” I thought. Pirates blew another one in front of a sellout crowd nonetheless. I actually turned the station for a couple of minutes too disgusted to listen. Well, something pulled at me to turn it back on for the bottom of the 10th. Andrew McCutchen had doubled, two outs were made and Garrett Jones drew a walk to bring Pedro Alvarez up as I pulled into my driveway. I hurried to turn the TV on as soon as I entered the door to my house. PNC Park appeared on my screen just moments prior to Alvarez depositing Huston Street‘s 0-1 pitch into the porch above the Clemente Wall for a walkoff 8-7 Pirates victory. I about lost it right there in my living room

I’m not going to sit here today and say that these Pirates rookies are different from the past ones—I can hope, but I don’t know if they are. But Alvarez is the best hitting prospect since Barry Bonds and he continues to prove himself on the field. They need to continue doing that if anything is ever going to really change, but I haven’t been this excited about the future status of the Pirates than right now. Somehow this kid makes it easier to believe. I will say that I think his three-run walkoff blast is easily the greatest moment in PNC Park history and probably the top moment in the last 18 years of the franchise. It was the “Pedro has arrived” moment. And it’s unbelievable to see.

And you thought I was excited? Check out the radio call below. I absolutely love how Steve Blass loses it and screams over Greg Brown’s call. “OH MY GOD, OH MY GOD…”

